About the awards

What are the Heating Installer Awards?

The Heating Installer Awards run annually to create a positive talking point in the industry, working to promote the excellent customer service delivered by heating installers which can often go unrecognised.

Targeting nine regions across the UK – North East, North West, Yorkshire & Humber, Midlands, East of England, South East, South West, Scotland, Wales & Northern Ireland – the Heating Installer Awards encourages plumbers and installers to nominate a project they’re particularly proud of, which demonstrates problem solving skills, clever and knowledgeable product selection, and exceptional results.

How It Works

Entries submitted are carefully reviewed and scored by a judging panel made up of technical and product experts from our partners, as well as independent parties, including previous winners of the awards. After this tough process, one winner per region is put forward to the next stage as a finalist and a shortlist for each of the two specialist categories is decided.

From here, finalists work to achieve the highest possible score, which is broken down into three parts:

  • One third of the total mark is carried forward from scores given by the judging panel
  • Another third is decided via a short response-to-scenario test which all of the nine regional finalists will be required to complete
  • The final third is decided by an online vote via this website

The installers who achieve the highest overall scores will then be announced as the winners.


After the success of previous years, this year we’re once again awarding a  winners for each region in the UK,  two category winners, and one national winner.

The Heating Installer Awards Regional Winners

Our regional category was created to celebrate the industry’s finest from every corner of the UK. This award recognises the technical expertise, commitment to the industry and high standards of installers across the UK and looks to crown one winner from each region as the top installer in their area. This category is open to UK residents aged 18 years and over who are Gas Safe registered.

The Heating Installer Awards National Winner

The winners from each region will go through to the final and be in with a chance of being crowned the National Heating Installer Awards Winner 2022. Each regional winner will be invited to complete a short response-to-scenario test in order to win this prestigious award and be crowned ‘the best of the best’ in the UK this year.

The Heating Installer Awards Rising Star

Created especially for the industry’s budding apprentices, this award recognises those heating installers who are still in training but are already working hard to achieve high standards and demonstrating real commitment to the industry.

All shortlisted apprentices will have to complete a short response-to-scenario test as well as work hard to drum up as many votes from family, friends and colleagues as possible.

The Heating Installer Awards Most Sustainable Installer

Our sustainability award recognises those who are doing everything they can to minimise the impact of their work on the environment. So if you are continuously looking at ways to reduce your carbon footprint and recommending sustainable products, processes and solutions to your customers, this award is for you.

And the great news is, installers can enter this category as well as a regional category, so you could be in with a chance of winning two awards!

In line with the other categories, entries into this category will be shortlisted by the judges, following which, each installer will also have a short telephone or face-to-face interview with an independent judge to assess their sustainable practice (rather than a technical challenge).

Key Dates

Entries open: 1st November 2021

Entry deadline: 28th February 2022

Regional winners and category shortlists announced and voting opens: 11th April 2022

Voting closes: 23rd May 2022

Winners announced: 22nd June 2022